Three Letters Re: Prepping with an Unsupportive Spouse

I have a very different perspective on this. The Bible does NOT rule my life. I rule my life based on rules from the Bible. And my wife is my partner in everything, 50-50. If we disagree on a particular aspect of something, we come to an agreement, rather than fall back on some archaic rules some idiots wrote in a book thousands of years ago. I’m sorry, but people must work together, not be ordered about. Men are stronger. Women are mothers. Men provide. Women work their asses off at home while caring for children. They work as hard if not harder than men. That is, those of us in traditional marriages, based on actually being MARRIED (in a church, by a priest, etc). But I’ll not cow tow to religion, nor government, nor any man to do what needs to be done to survive. Nor, I’m proud to say, will my wife. If your wife isn’t on board at the beginning – then the problem is NOT the spouse. It’s YOU. You didn’t not take the time to organize, discuss and explain your thoughts on the whole process. And if your spouse gives you LOGICAL reasons for NOT doing something, you’d best listen.

sentinelblog

Source: Survival Blog, by MH

I appreciate this discussion, but it also frustrates me, because the head of my household thinks preparing beyond a few day’s worth is all hype and hysteria. I have put up a number of provisions but am unable to make many of the prudent improvements to our home for physical and energy security. I take my vows seriously, but this tears at me because I know we will likely suffer needlessly when, not if, it all comes apart. (Money is not an issue for us.) I would truly appreciate your wisdom on this “opposite” issue that I’ve never seen addressed. – Mrs Southern AZ

Read More Here: SurvivalBlog.com

View original post

